Sony revamps PlayStation Trophy system — here’s when it launches

New PS Trophy System

All the details about the upcoming changes to the PlayStation Trophy system, including how levels are changing

Sony has announced it is revamping the PlayStation Trophy system and altering the way levels work.

In a PlayStation Blog post, the Director of Product Management for Sony Interactive Entertainment Toshimasa Aoki ran down how the new system will work. The first change being made will alter levels from 1-100 to 1-999. That means regardless of what level you’re currently at, you’ll see a boost in that number when the changes go live.

The blog post gave an example of how this will work, saying “for example, if your current Trophy level is 12, your new level will jump to somewhere in the low 200’s. The exact level will depend on the number and grades of trophies you’ve acquired.

Though the post also clarifies that no alterations to the trophies themselves will be made in terms of what’s needed to unlock them or how many or which type you have.

“There will be no changes to the Trophies already earned or Trophy information, such as unlock requirements,” Aoki said.

In addition, with the new system structure, “players will progress quicker through the early levels, and levels will increase more consistently,” according to the post.

Platinum trophies also carry more weight in the new system, so you’ll want to work extra hard to add those to your catalog.

Lastly, new Trophy level icons will add sort of a system of trophies for your trophies. The current gold star icon next to your Trophy level is being removed and will instead feature new icons that change depending on your level.

The icons feature a similar structure to the trophies — bronze, silver, gold and platinum — and even have multiple tiers within each Trophy level.

There’s even a platinum icon when you reach the coveted 999. Here are the levels, as written on the PlayStation Blog.

  • Bronze: levels 1-299
  • Silver: levels 300 – 599
  • Gold: levels 600 – 998
  • Platinum: level 999

Sony also confirmed that, like with previous systems, trophies will carry over to the PlayStation 5 and the new Trophy leveling system will be reflected on all future and past systems as well as the PlayStation mobile app and in the online My PlayStation platform.

You can expect to see the updates take effect “later tonight” in North America, the blog post said.

Published by Daniel Wilson

I've been involved in journalism for 20+ years and recently earned my Bachelor's degree. Please visit both and for more information.

%d bloggers like this: